Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation Review

I was at a Mary Kay party and decided to pick up a foundation to see if it would work well for me. At the time, I was not happy with the foundations I owned and decided to try. It was the end of summer when I purchase the product. My skin at the time was oily and sensitive but throughout the winter my skin was combination/sensitive. Throughout several months of trying the foundation, I definitely got an opinion on the product.

Image

First, I will start off with the claims of the foundation. “This lightweight liquid foundation gives you stay true, stay-put color for flawless, natural looking, long-lasting, even coverage. The silky-smooth formula provides buildable coverage and controls oil for at least eight hours. For normal to oily skin.

  • Suitable for sensitive skin
  • Fragrance-free
  • Oil-Free
  • Non-comedogenic
  • Dermatologist-tested

 It comes in 20 different shades starting about an NC 15 to deep skin tones. The foundation does look flawless and natural on the skin. It is fairly long-lasting which last me about ten hours of wear and does control my oil for eight hours. The coverage on the foundation is medium and has a matte finish. I do not think the foundation is good for people that have any dryness anywhere on the skin because the foundation clings to the areas. I would recommend the foundation for normal and oily skin types. People with dry and combination skin types I would say to avoid this foundation.

The foundation does not contain fragrance which is a common allergen to sensitive skin but I still do not think it is suitable for people with sensitive skin. The ingredient of the product contains natural ingredients which can irritate sensitive skin. I notice my skin was redder and irritated after wearing the foundation. I did not enjoy from this particular foundation and did not cover up all the redness. Since, my skin was more irritated my skin was redder than normal. The foundation coverage, I would need to cover up the redness would be a full coverage. Normally, I do not need full coverage and not happy with this foundation. However, I do think it is a good foundation but it just is not for me.

Some of the Key ingredients found in this product is: “Vitamin C and Vitamin E Acetate are antioxidants. Known as free radical scavengers, these ingredients are included in product to help protect the skin from the effects of free radicals generated by the environment. Lemon and Cucumber Extracts are used as skin brighteners known to provide a brightening effect, resulting in more even looking skin”.

The ingredient list for the foundation: 

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Talc, Silica, Propylene Glycol, Isododecane, Sorbitan Isostearate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Lemon Extract, Cucumber Extract, Quaternium-18 Bentonite, Magnesium Sulfate, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Phenoxylethanol, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Diazolidinyl Urea, Dimethicone Copolylol, Glycerin, Methylparaben, BHT, Propylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauramine Oxide, Disodium Edta, Sodium Citrate, Absorbic Acid, C9-15 Alkyl Phosphate, Peg-75, Peg-150, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, and Ultramarines.

My skin did not look any brighter than using other foundation that does not claim to brighten the skin. I would not rely on this product to make your complexion not look dull. Also, my face did not look any more even then using other foundations. My skin looked more flawless by using L’Oreal True Match Foundation than using this foundation. Also, that foundation is a lot cheaper and I enjoy the product more than the Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation. I cannot say it does not protect against free radicals since I do not notice any effects.

The price of the Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation is 15 dollars which is not that expensive for a foundation compared to higher end brands. I have the color Ivory 104 which is the lightest pink undertone foundation. I have pink undertones to my skin. This foundation does not match me and has a slight orange hue to my skin. The Ivory 100 which is the lightest yellow undertone was still too orange on my skin tone. I have about an MAC NW 10 skin tone but if you have an NC 15 in Mac then this foundation will probably match you. If the foundation came in a lighter shade I would actually have a shade that match my complexion perfectly.The picture did not show on my wrist how orange the foundation was in person. My wrist are a similar shade as my neck and body. That is why I show the foundation on my wrist. However, you can see the foundation does not match my skin tone (the foundation is blended into my wrist). 

Image

Image

The foundation did not turn a darker color throughout the day. I had other foundation that I thought matched but was way too orange after a couple of minutes wearing the foundation.

Packaging of the foundation comes in a squeeze tube container which you cannot put extra foundation back into the container. It is a white color tube which I am glad since it contains Vitamin C. It is an unstable ingredient which the container helps protects the ingredient. I do not like squeeze tube foundation as much as foundations that come with a pump. I feel with a pump you can control how much product comes out and can put excess foundation back into the product. However, I like a squeeze tube container than a pour out foundation container.

Image

The product is easier to come out of the product but I found it is difficult to know when you are running low on the foundation. Since, you cannot see how much foundation you have in the container. The foundation you thought was finish may have more foundation that ends up being wasted.

Also, another negative for the foundation is that you need to know your undertones. One shade lighter could be a different undertone than your skin tone. Several shades darker could be a similar color but different undertone of the foundation. I would prefer the foundation to list different undertones such as C  for pink undertones and W for yellow undertones. I feel this would make the foundations easier to choose a shade and undertone that matches the skin tone. 

The pros of the foundation are:

  • Inexpensive
  • Great for people with oily skin
  • Long lasting
  • Does not oxidize on the skin

The negatives of the foundation are:

  • Not suitable for people with sensitive, dry and combination skin
  • Can irritate the skin
  • It clings to any dry patches on the skin
  • Does not come in very pale foundation shades
  • Need to know a representative or buy online
  • Does not brighten  the skin
  • Cannot see the effects of protecting against free radicals\
  • Need to know your undertone 
  • Does not list the foundation by the undertones

Overall, I do not think Mary Kay Medium Coverage foundation is not a bad product. It just is not the best foundation for me but I can see how others really love this product. I would not repurchase the product because the cons out weigh the pros of the product.

I would give this foundation 2 out of 5 stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

