Finding Your Skin Undertone:

Skin naturally has several different tones to make our unique color to our skin. The amount of tones will vary. Some people will have skin that has a lot of yellow, golden, peach tones to their skin. Others will have pink, red or blue tones. I have a lot of rosy/pink tones to my skin.

There are three different tones or undertones: warm, neutral and cool. A warm undertone will have a peach, golden and yellow tone. Cool undertones will have the red/blue/pink tones to the skin. Lastly, neutral undertones will be in the middle of warm and cool.

A lot of people say to look at the veins in the wrist to determine your undertone. However, I never found this helpful in determining skin undertone. I learned in my biology class that veins are blue and I see everyone with blue veins. Supposedly, blue/purple veins means that you have cool undertones. Blue/green veins means that you have warm undertones. 

Another way is to see which one flatters your skin tone better: white or cream. If white looks better on your skin than you have cool undertones. If cream looks better than you have warm undertones. I find that I do not look great in cream and I look better in white.

Others say to test silver or gold against your skin to determine your skin. I do not feel this is an accurate way to test undertones, since certain eye colors make a color pop. If gold looks better than you have warm undertones and silver looks better than you have cool undertones. I found with my hazel eyes that gold and silver enhanced my skin tone. People would say I have neutral undertones but I have cool undertones.

The best way I found to determine your skin undertone is to grab a plain white paper. You will want to put the white paper against your body not your face. The face can have excess redness and may give an inaccurate result. The dominate color that you see will be your undertone. I have rosy/pink tones on my wrist and body. If you see more blue/red/rosy/pink tones you will have cool undertones. If you see yellow/orange/golden/peach tones then you have warm undertones. If you do not see any dominate tones to your skin than you have a neutral tone.

If none of the methods of determining your skin undertone then you can ask yourself some questions:

– Do foundations tend to look too pink on my skin tone? If yes, then you probably have a warm undertone.

– Do foundations tend to look too yellow on my skin tone? If yes, then you probably have a cool undertone. 

Leave a Reply

