Sensitive, Eczema Prone Skin Care Routine

I was debating on doing my skin care routine, since it is very simple. I do not use a lot of products because my skin reacts to almost everything. I get rashes, hives and burning sensations with most products. My skin is rather sensitive and I am prone to getting eczema. My skin used to be more acne prone, oily and sensitive. As a disclaimer, these products are not sponsor. I truly love the products that I mention below.  

First, I always cleanse my face with a gentle, no lathering cleanser. I like cleansers that do not have fragrance, since I am allergic to them. I got into a routine of trying a small amount of product on my skin before purchasing a product. It helps me not spend lots on money that my skin cannot tolerate. The cleanser, I used was recommend from my Dermatologist. I use Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser, which I had no bad skin reactions. Compared to other cleansers my skin is less irritated and do not feel a burning sensation. When I get a break out the blemishes do not last as long with the Cetaphil cleanser.

When I am washing my face it depend if I have on makeup. In the morning when I do not have makeup, I wash my face once. Then I go onto moisturizing my face. In the evening, I will wash my face twice. One time will take off my makeup and the next will cleanse my skin.

I do not use any tool besides a standard washcloth to wash my face. Any other device just irritates my skin and is a waste of money. I try not to use a washcloth every time I wash my face because the surface of the washcloth is very irritating to my skin. However, I will use a washcloth about two times a week. It will help exfoliate my skin to prevent it from looking dull. In general my skin does not like to be exfoliated and gets very irritated afterwards.

Next, I use a moisturizer to help prevent any dry patches. I leave my face slightly damp, so the moisturizer penetrates better. My moisturizer was also recommend by my dermatologist and is the Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer. It is a lightweight moisturizer and does not leave my face greasy. My skin does not have any bad reaction and does counteract the eczema most of the time. When my face gets drier, I will use a more moisturizing moisturizer. I will use the Cetaphil Moisturizing lotion, which was recommended by my Dermatologist. I will only use this moisturizer at night, since I do not like how it makes my makeup look. My skin never got a breakout from using the product on my face. I do not get blemishes as much as in the past and I am happy with how my skin looks.

I will put on a lip balm at least twice a day after I wash and moisturized my face. My lips get dry and I will put on lip balm when needed. My favorite lip balm is the Burt’s Bees Balm because it hydrates my lips the best. I had a problem with chapped lips and tried numerous lip balms. No lip balm got rid of my chapped lips beside the Burt’s Bees.

I hope that you enjoyed my skin care routine. It is a very simple routine, since my skin does not tolerate a lot. I found the simpler my routine, the better my skin looks. 

Leave a Reply

